Today sees the release of Lotta Sea Lice, the irresistible album born of collaboration between Philadelphia’s Kurt Vile and Melbourne’s very own Courtney Barnett. The record, which has already garnered wide-spread critical acclaim and spawned the gorgeous sprawling singles ‘Over Everything’ and ‘Continental Breakfast’, will be released on Barnett’s own label Milk! Records alongside Matador Records.

With Lotta Sea Lice Barnett and Vile have delivered something utterly miraculous, an instant-classic record which sounds as if the two have played together for decades. This is a conversation between friends, documented in raw, unvarnished song form, brimming with personal history, crackling with energy and shot through with humour. There’s an unforced ease to the record helped the fact that the pair have been not just friends, but hardcore fans of each other’s work for years, and have also roped in colleagues such as Mick Turner and Jim White of the Dirty Three, Stella Mozgawa from Warpaint and even Mick Harvey to play.

Apart from the aforementioned singles and a bevy of originals from both Barnett and Vile, Lotta Sea Lice features a blistering version of Jen Cloher’s ‘Fear Is Like A Forest’, a gorgeous harmony-laden version of Belly’s cult 90’s classic ‘Untogether’.

Lotta Sea Lice has already been awarded critical accolades, from the likes of Pitchfork, Guardian, Loud and Quiet, Q and Uncut, which made it their Album of the Month. Their US tour, which kicked off this week, has also sold out, taking in dates in Joshua Tree, LA, Seattle, Chicago and more.

Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile – Lotta Sea Lice
1. Over Everything
2. Let it Go
3. Fear Is Like a Forest
4. Outta the Woodwork
5. Continental Breakfast
6. On Script
7. Blue Cheese
8. Peepin’ Tom
9. Untogether

Stream ‘Lotta Sea Lice’ via Spotify & Apple Music